Type 2 Dietideas!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian Cullen

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I have had Type 2 now going on 3 years, I know a lot about food, I am a qualified chef by trade and have been in and out of the Hospitality industry for a long time, I should know what foods to avoid with higher sugar levels, yet I am still struggling with my glucose levels, today 21.5 maybe I am still in denial. I get sugar cravings and give in to these weaknesses from time to time, It feels like I am being a naughty schoolboy eating my Mars bar behind the teachers back. I know I am only fooling myself and I do know the consequences of my actions. I haven't given in to any recent cravings although now my problem is with fresh fruit and not Mars Bars. I eat very healthily lots of fresh veggies and home cooked food, I've recently taken up jogging and attended a gym, but I still miss the sugar, anyone else out there with the same issues, or can anyone offer any help.

Hi Brian, welcome to the forum 🙂 Sorry to hear you are having problems :( When waas that 21.5 reading taken? Are you on any medication for your diabetes? Have you been offered an education course to help you understand your diabetes? It sounds like you have some idea of where things are going wrong, if you are giving in to sugar cravings, so that is certainly a place to start, but bear in mind that it is all carbohydrates that will raise your blood sugar levels, not just sugar. I would suggest starting a food diary and recording the carbs in everything you eat and drink for a week or so. Be methodical and perfectly honest - it can be a bit tedious, but it will give you a good idea of where you really stand and should identify areas where you can make adjustments - reducing portion size of some items, or substituting more 'diabetes-friendly' items for those that are causing you the most grief.