Type 1 or 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamSpice

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I am a newbie here but was diagnosed 23 years ago with T1D at the age of 25. I was immediately told that I was Type 1 and immediately started insulin.

On a telephone review this week with a new consultation he told me that he had spent time looking back on my records and when I was diagnosed I was not checked for the Type 1 anti-bodies or C-Petide test to confirm that I was Type 1.

He said that he is skeptical that I even have Type 1 even though I have been treated as one for so many years.

He said my treatment may have been very different if I am only type 2.

Has anyone else come across this?

I am currently waiting for a blood test to confirm this.

People more often (much more often) report things going the other way (they're diagnosed Type 2 but eventually (when treating it as Type 2 fails) they find they were really Type 1).

At 25 you were a bit young for the typical presentation of Type 2, and if you were also not fat (and/or relatively fit and healthy looking) I can imagine doctors assuming you were Type 1 without testing. There's more of a realisation that people can have Type 2 without being overweight, I guess.

https://www.exeter.ac.uk/news/featurednews/title_707155_en.html

Professor Mark Strachan, from Western General Hospital, Edinburgh, said: “We have now measured C-peptide in over 750 people with a clinician-diagnosis of Type 1 diabetes, attending our clinic at the Westen General Hospital. So far, we have made a new diagnosis of genetic diabetes in eight people, and changed the diagnosis to Type 2 diabetes in 28 other people. This has allowed us to make changes to treatment in many of these individuals and in 12 people we have actually been able to stop insulin therapy.”

From 2019 and you probs found a consultant hell bent on testing everyone they meet that hasn't been previously tested

https://www.exeter.ac.uk/news/featurednews/title_707155_en.html