Type 1 for 13 years

Status
Not open for further replies.

Was81

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Pronouns
He/Him
I’ve been a type 1 for 13 years diagnosed when I was 33. I have always had tight control and my last two HB1c have been 41 after a slip in control over Covid lockdown.

I’ve been using Libra for the past 10 months and this has been a game changer for me and I’m between 85% -90% on range over 90 days/most of the time. All good I’m steely proud of myself and the hard work I put in to keep my control tight. I do a lot of insulin to do this and keep on top of if.

4 weeks ago I saw a new constant who felt my back ground on how I was diagnosed and my tight control indicated to him that perhaps I’m not type 1. He did a new type of test and results say I’m no type 1 but type 2.

This has been a big shock and one I can’t accept or believe as I know how hard I work to keep control and how much insult I used to do this.

Help!! Thoughts on this? Can it be right??

Hi and welcome.

Sorry to hear that there is some confusion over your initial diagnosis and this is understandably causing you to feel unsettled.