Type 1.5 / Slow Onset

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bartmanblues

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi there, my second post, woo!

Anywho, the main point of this thread is to ask the community if anyone knows anything about type 1.5 diabetes/slow onset? :confused:

I ask because although i've been diagnosed with type 2 (about 6 months ago), many suspect I have slow onset (i'm 25, very slim, BMI currently 18.5, low blood pressure). I am going to see my nurse tomorrow about the results of my latest HbA1c (will I have to increase to 4 Metformin tablets from 3?) and am going to ask her whether she thinks it best to possibly refer me to York Diabetic department.

Essentially I have little knowledge about Type 1.5 and cannot find much about it anywhere. What I know is summed up at this link: http://www.diagnose-me.com/cond/C12335.html

I could not find anything on Diabetes UK, I get the feeling 1.5 is not academically accepted? Or do some think it's a myth?

As you can tell, i'm fairly ignorant on the subject but I was hoping to find out what anyone else knows....even saying you know nothing helps because it would suggest that type 1.5 is a little known subject. 🙂

Thanking you muchly.

http://www.diabetesnet.com/diabetes_types/diabetes_type_15.php

dnt know if that will help you anymore or not, just wanted to wish you good luck with tomorrows pending Hba results,I think it would be in your best interests to ask about being referred to York diabetic dept.I think they may be some other members in your area on the forum that maybe with that service now and can tell you what its like x

Last edited:
Good luck with your A1c tomorrow.

Just wondering do you have any relatives with diabetes? and also how you were diagnosed?