Two Diagnosis'

Status
Not open for further replies.

DKK

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
Hi All,

I've been managing my child's diabetes (6 years old) for just over two years now, yesterday my 10 year old was also diagnosed as Type1.

I know diabetes is not hereditary - each child has a different mother and none of us have diabetes or a family history of diabetes. Does anybody else have a similar situation, I'd like to have some sort of test on my DNA/Genetics.

Thanks!

I believe that it may be more a genetic predisposition to autoimmune conditions rather than specifically Type 1 diabetes.... but I could be wrong. Neither of my parents had diabetes but my mother developed Rheumatoid Arthritis which is autoimmune and my sister developed PMR (also autoimmune condition) within a year of me developing Type 1.... which is obviously autoimmune. Interestingly all 3 of us developed these conditions during menopause, so I suspect the trigger may have been a change in hormones. With children I wonder if the trigger may also be hormonal.... growth hormones in their case. Just my non medical thoughts....

Yes, T1 in children can be linked to genetics:

There are gene mutations that predispose to Type 1 and in the right (or wrong?) circumstances they cause the disease. Mostly, those circumstances are environmental, lifestyle and/or other predisposing genes, especially those that cause autoimmune attack as @rebrascora indicated.

If your kids both inherit a predisposing gene there will be some likelihood of getting type 1. If the other parent also had a predisposing gene then they are more likely to have type 1, but two genes are not a given for development of type 1.
I would hold back on the gene tests as there are thousands of potential predisposing genes and they are mostly not well characterised.

I don’t know if this study is still recruiting or not but you could check