Travelling to Uganda with no spleen

Status
Not open for further replies.

zippyjojo

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 3c
Hi everyone. We’ve got a trip booked to Uganda in October that should have happened back in 2020 when I still had a spleen. I’ve filled out my travel form and have now had the fear of God put into me from a phone call from the PN saying I need to think really seriously about my trip because of the risk of mosquito transmitted diseases and saying that if I caught something I would be very ill, very quickly. Have any of you lovely people in my position done anything similar? We are staying in high end lodges but out trekking in the jungle in the day to see the gorillas. Any advice/experience gratefully received

I have no experience of spleen-less travel. But I do have experience and wonderful memories of travel in Uganda.
I found the lodges all clean although some were a little basic (e.g. no running water). The gorilla trekking was great but could be long (we did it on two days) as the gorillas don't stay in one place so they had to tracked which could take 4 or 5 hours to find them or it could only take 90 minutes - I experienced both extremes. And they don't keep to paths so it is wild wild jungle. It was worth it both days: watching the youngster "do a Baloo" as they played with the ants crawling up their arms, watching the parents work together to get the fruit down from the tops of trees, looking in awe at the huuuuuge silverback male a couple of meters away. There were mossies but I don't remember them being too bad - this may be because the Impenetrable Forest where we saw the gorillas is quite high.
Apart from the gorillas, the scenery is stunning, the locals are friendly, the roads are terrible, and the city was a little scary (all shops had a guard with a rifle outside).