Travel

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnnS

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I am going away in Feb to Australia and New zealand for a month. I would like advice on travel packs available to keep insulin cool. Its mainly the flight as I am on a cruise and will have access to a fridge. Any advice is welcome

Frio packs are the obvious suggestion. I have been using them for many, many years. They are not lightweight when activated, but they work and to keep things cool all you need is more water. I have tried to find anything better and tried various different things and I keep coming back to them. Kind of given up finding anything else.
Will be interested if anyone has found otherwise.

As insulin survives with no problems out of the fridge at room temperature and some over zealous security officer at airports may get upset by the gel in Frio packs, in your situation, @AnnS , I would be happy to keep my insulin in my hand luggage (in a clear plastic bag - again for airport security) sandwiched within a sweater for insulation.
If you take your insulin out of the fridge as you leave home and place it ina fridge when you arrive in Oz, you only need to think of losing about 48 hours from the 30 day room temperature Life when you next remove it from the fridge.
Some people seem to be obsessed about keeping insulin at fridge temperature but this is not necessary.

As far as I understand, there is no need to keep insulin cool on a flight as long as you pop any not in use pens/cartridges in the fridge as soon as you get there and it isn't exposed to excessive heat or freezing. Cabin temperature in your hand luggage should be fine. Mark the number of days it has been out of the fridge on the box or label if you need to and that can be deducted from the time it can be in use ie 28days or whatever, when you start to use that pen or cartridge.