Travel

Status
Not open for further replies.

hepp

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I am new to the FreeStyle Libre system and during the training I was warned not to go through the fully body scanners at airports which I completely understand but I can't find any information on whether its ok for the spare sensors I will bet taking to go through hand luggage X-ray machines and wondered if anyone on here has done and had any issues.

go through hand luggage X-ray machines and wondered if anyone on here has done and had any issues.
I think many of us have and have had no problems. (That doesn't mean it's recommended or that you won't have problems.)

I'm on Dexcom and I was advised to not go through the full-body scanners, and to carry spare transmitters in my hand for them to be manually checked. For FreeStyle Libre, I would carry the spares in my hand for them to be manually checked.

I just got back from a Eurostar trip and one way, I walked through the metal detector (not the full-body scanner) they used the hand wand to check the CGM on my arm. The other way, they waved me through (avoiding the metal detector) and they did a swab test for the spares and the one on my arm.

It was easy. I just told them I had medical devices on me and in my hand, and they knew exactly what they needed to do.

I have taken Libre through many X-ray machines.
They have never been queried and always worked fine.
It is important to me to keep personal information, such as any medical conditions, private. Therefore, I do not share that I have diabetes or that I am wearing a CGM with strangers such as airport security.

I am new to the FreeStyle Libre system and during the training I was warned not to go through the fully body scanners at airports which I completely understand but I can't find any information on whether its ok for the spare sensors I will bet taking to go through hand luggage X-ray machines and wondered if anyone on here has done and had any issues.
Hi Hepp