To pump or not to pump?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LinsayS

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hello All,

Hoping for a spot of advice. Went to the clinic and for various reasons, they recommended a pump for me. Mainly to help with better control.

I'm torn... I would like to be more in control but I don't like the idea of being attached to something all the time. I'm quite active and I know you can take it out for a bit but it's in the majority of the time isn't it?

If you have one, I'd love to know your experiences and how it feels etc.

I don't mind the injections but as I get older I'm finding it more and more difficult to keep a tight grip on the sugars...I'm 31 and have had type 1 for 21 years.

Help and invaluable experiences much appreciated! Please be honest!

Lins.x

Hey Linsay,

I'm about to go onto a pump after fourteen years of injections. My reasons behind this are many. Primarily, I'm a student and MDI just doesn't fit around the lifestyle that I have at the moment. Secondly, I feel the need for a basal that I can tailor to suit my needs. Thirdly, I am fed up with injections. Fourthly, I want a better HbA1c, given that all efforts over the years haven't been able to get that below eight percent I thought I might aswell.

Tom

My son has been on a pump for 6 months and his hba1c has come down from 9.6 to 7.1 - need i say more? He is extremely active and swims and goes on the trampolene etc - you can take it off for up to 2 hours and also set temp basals etc - it will change your life for the better.🙂Bev

Hi Lindsay