Thinking about trying...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lizzzie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi

I'm new here; I've had diabetes for about 8 months. Going for my first 'long term' glucose test next week but it's going to be too high because I've been travelling for 2 months and my sugar's just been like a yo-yo in India.

Anyway, while we were in India, my husband and I decided it's time we tried for a baby. I went along to have my implant taken out and just happened to mention that I was diabetic and that I knew that I wasn't supposed to start trying until I'd talked to my consultant, but that was ok because I have an appointment with her soon....

...Oooops. I was just expecting my consultant to say: Oh yes that's fine, keep your glucose down, have some folic acid tablets. I had no idea I need to have a certain sugar level before I'm supposed to start trying..... and I'm now completely devestated because that presumably means the nice 2010 baby I was planning on might be a 2011 baby, or a 2012 baby... and that's before we even start trying to conceive!

Have already been reading this site a bit so I've read some stories, but... well... any tips / advice / experiences?