testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

lanzlady

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi all,

as I am fairly new to D type 2 what are the reasons for not testing on the fore
finger or the thumb and which are the best fingers/area to test?

Lanzlady

hi ...i was told to test on the sides of my fingers away from your body so to speak ....and also to change the spike level until i got the minimum i needed ..still get it wrong tho and bleed everywhere !!
re testing on forefinger thumb i dont recall being told about that but dont anyway ....I think its to do with the blood vessels or nerves or something...Good luck and use your testing to find out what effect the different things you eat effect your Blood sugars so you can make the necessary changes to you diet to stabilise it x🙂

Don't know why not the forefinger or thumb, no-one's mentioned that to me. I generally use the middle or little fingers though and the side (not too close to the nail) rather than the pad it's less painful and you get a better drop of blood.

you're not supposed to use those 2 fingers, because they are the most used fingers throughout the day. As you maybe already know, sometimes your fingers hurt after having done the finger pricking. So you wouldn't want your forefinger and thumb to hurt.

I was told to avoid as testing here may not be as accurate as the finger.

I was told to avoid testing on the thumb and the index and middle finger as they are the finger that you use most, and therefore testing on those fingers will lead to callouses which can make things difficult, like holding onto a cup of tea...