Tandem insulin not working..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Colm

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi All
I am new to pumping, I got my first pump (Tslim) a month ago after 20 years on MDI's.
I am finding that the insulin (Novarapid) is losing its "power" after 2 days, I am having to change the site and cartridge after 2, not 3 days, or no mater how much insulin I take, its like injecting water, my glucose levels go up to 15 and wont come down.
Soon as i change cartridge, filled with new insulin, change site, all goes back to normal.
Has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks
Colm.

Hi @Colm

Sorry to hear you're having problems with your insulin & blood sugar.

I started on a Tslim about 5 months ago. I wonder if it is the cannula type that not's working well for you rather than the insulin losing its power? Just a thought as I have had such erratic blood sugar since changing to TSlim and have had to change from a Teflon to a steel cannula to get insulin absorbed properly.

Insulin shouldn't lose its potency after 2 or 3 days in a reservoir provided it's been stored correctly in a fridge etc. I get the most problems when the cannula I'm using just doesn't work well for me.

I'd contact your DSN and ask for some advice/help and also consider trying a different cannula.

I agree with @Flower , @Colm It might not be the new insulin but the change of site that’s making things work. So, I’d look at your cannula sites and your cannulas. I’ve used a pump for almost 20 years and in some areas the wrong cannula can make it seem like the insulin isn’t working. The right cannula type for you can make a huge difference. I need different types for different body areas.

Thanks for the responses. It does tend to get a little tender, even sore around the cannula on the second day of insertion,
I can actually feel the insulin going in on a bolus, which feels weird... so how do I figure which one to use? just trial and error?

Thanks again
Colm.