Taking Creatine with Metformin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Valley1

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi,
Does anyone with type 2 diabetes use Creatine for gym sessions whilst taking Metformin? I’d like to increase my workouts/strength and Creatine gummies or powder was suggested to me. I’m on 500mg Metformin tablets three times a day, but concerned there maybe contraindications. Thanks 🙂

I don’t know about creatine I’m afraid @Valley1

But as @Inka suggests pharmacist would be the ideal person to talk to about any possible interactions between medications (if your surgery doesn’t have a tame one on staff, you could speak to the qualified pharmacist at your high street chemists)

Hi @Valley1

Please note that I am no expert in anything, and the following information is based on imperfect information and personal opinion only - it is critical that you consult with your doctors before taking any action based on any of the following information.

Firstly - Creatine - I can find no studies that examine Creatine use while on Metformin. The best article I can find which describes the effects of Creatine is the following:

Being on Metformin may however have implications as regards building muscle. See the links in the following threads:

I found the video linked in this thread to be very informative as regards nutrition and muscle building: