Taking 3 different tabs for type 2

Amanda BH

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi I’ve been on Metformin SR 2 x 500mg morning and evening for years, they then added on a 10mg Empagliflozin in the last couple of years and now want to add 2 x 40mg Gliclazide. I can find no information on taking this cocktail, anywhere. Has anyone on here been taking this combination?
The choice I’ve been offered is add the Gliclazide or 10 units of insulin ‍♀️
My last fasting HbA1c was 72

Hi Amanda, I'm not on that combination but it is a recognised combination within the NICE guidelines where the combination of metformin and another medication aren't helping get your HbA1c down sufficiently. And as you say, the suggested alternative to triple therapy with non-insulin medications is to add insulin in

I'm pretty sure there will be others along who have taken or are taking that or a similar triple combination soon :care:

@Amanda BH welcome to the forum. I am still very new to diabetes. When you say fasting Hba1c is this just the normal test? I thought Hba1c was non fasting?
I got to 4 metformin last week with mixed results and reduced to 2 SR metaformin and an SGLT2 pill on Saturday. It was explained to me as being beneficial for my medical profile. I have high blood pressure although it is well controlled. So far I feel very well but haven't tried testing my blood yet. I am likely to go on a statin next week. My Hba1c were 69 end of June 64 end of July and 58 last week.
If asked I would say I would prefer not to go on insulin because despite previously being a blood donor I don't like the idea of injecting myself.

However, people here who use insulin appear cheerful and pragmatic. Hopefully someone will know the competing benefits.

Last edited: