Sugar levels

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenub109

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi I was diagnosed with type 2 in sep/oct declined medication and wanted to try and control sugars through diet as my eating habits weren’t very good, my question is I’ve eaten some chips and chicken tikka with a small amount of naan bread and checked sugar levels and they are 3.7 after 2 hours which seems low? Also no medication, So what would I do sorry newbie here thought the chips and naan bread would have made levels high?
Thank you

Which BG meter do you have? I am guessing possibly a Kinetic or Sinocare as I believe these meters just give an abstract low reading when not enough blood is applied to the test strip, whereas other meters give an error code.

It is extremely unlikely that you would get a genuine low reading after eating such food unless you have a condition called Reactive Hypoglycaemia and then you would feel unwell. I suggest you get a new test strip and try again, which is what you should always do when you get an unexpected reading, either high or low.

What was your pre meal reading or did you not test before eating? The best practice for testing around meals to see if your body coped with them, is to test just before eating and then 2 hours afterwards and you are looking for a rise of no more than 2-3mmols.

Let us know what reading you get from a second test.

It does, though blood sugars can go down to 3.5 in a healthy person.
Chips and naan are quite high carb so i would expect a higher value.(I am t1 though so may be different for t2)
Did you wash your hands and thoroughly dry then before doing your finger prick test? If your finger was wet it may lead to a low result. Also it may be worth testing your meter with the test solution that would normally come with it.