Sudden change in Fasting Blood Glucose to do with booster?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poz260

Relationship to Diabetes
At risk of diabetes
I was diagnosed with Prediabetes in May 2021. Since then I have got on top of my diet (Keto-light) exercised well (BMI back in to the green) and tested regularly. My fasting BG was dropping nicely down in to or close to "normal" each morning and most foods were leaving me at 2 hours in a "normal" range. However, something has changed just before Christmas - I am now showing 7+ every morning. All foods are spiking me far more than before. Whilst I had 1 mince pie and 1 serving of Christmas pudding, I didn't drink / eat anything too different throughout the Xmas period and exercised regularly. The only thing that changed was that I had my Booster jab for Covid in mid-December but I doubt it is related to that. As I'm fairly new to this - is this sudden change of gear usual? Can your pancreas etc just tip over the edge? Thanks in advance

Has anyone had lasting increased BG levels since their booster? My fasting BG was verging on "normal" up until Mid-December then all of a sudden it is 7+ every morning since then...nearly a month after my booster. Nothing really changed in diet and I am exercise even more than I did before Xmas. Thanks

Welcome to the forum @Poz260

I’ve moved your posts into the same thread so that you don’t have to keep tabs on two separate simultaneous conversations on the same subject 🙂

Responses to the jabs do seem to vary (both by variety of jab, and also between individuals). Some see a modest short lived bu,p in BGs, while others appear to see a bigger disruption that can take longer to settle down.