Stupid knee injury!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Northerner

Admin (Retired)
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Well, I have a second degree sprain of my lateral collateral ligament. This is the ligament that runs on the outside of the knee and is commonly damaged by a blow to the inside of the knee - which is precisely what happened to me :(

Good news is that it is not a third degree i.e. a rupture. Bad news is that it takes 5 to 8 weeks to mend and it has currently been 3 weeks for me. I can still walk short distances (yesterday's walk was a big mistake!), but with pain. Best exercise is on a wobble board, which luckily I already have from when I broke the same leg a few years ago.

Sooooo frustrating as running is my main sport! I have invested in '15 minute workouts for Dummies' and tried one of the four programmes which doesn't involve stressing my knee, so maybe I'll finally sort out my increasingly flabby upper body! 🙄😱

I hope your knee mends soon. We have a DVD called Seated Tai Chi for Arthritis. I got it for hubby as he has osteoarthritis, and because it is done sitting down (on a dining chair is best) it puts no strain on sore or achey knees and helps keep things a little bit more mobile.

Sorry to hear your injured Northener.

Have you any tips you can give me for a 10K I'm doing on Sunday? I've done it a few times before, but left entering until very late this year and have only done 3 practice runs (1x 20min, 1x 30min, and 1x 55min - which is my only full 10K)

Normally do it to raise funds for Diabetes UK, but this year doing it for the local Maternity Hospital as myself and 4 other colleagues have used their services lately.

NiVZ

Sorry to hear your injured Northener.

Have you any tips you can give me for a 10K I'm doing on Sunday? I've done it a few times before, but left entering until very late this year and have only done 3 practice runs (1x 20min, 1x 30min, and 1x 55min - which is my only full 10K)