Splitting basal doses

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mumpie_olgran

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Does anyone have any thoughts and advice on splitting doses? I'm on 20 units Lantus which I currently take first thing in the morning.
Two thoughts triggered the idea of switching
1) I travel a bit and it feels like splitting it would make time zone adjustments easier
2) I'm pretty happy with the base load in aggregate as my BS (currently!) stays pretty flat overnight. But I do find I fairly consistently drop BS throughout the morning and early afternoon and I just wondered if maybe the insulin was more effective for me in the first 6-8 hours. Such that if I split it, maybe I can be more accurate on total needs
Sorry if someone has already posted on this, I'm not very good at searching the back history
Thanks in advance for any thoughts

Only ever took single dose of lantus before pump change, found it give decent coverage & don't recollect that it caused many hypos.

Are you sure morning hypo is result of your basal & not breakfast insulin?

Only ever took single dose of lantus before pump change, found it give decent coverage & don't recollect that it caused many hypos.

Are you sure morning hypo is result of your basal & not breakfast insulin?
Hi thanks for the reply. Yes petty sure on that front as it happens on days when I don't have breakfast too (maybe once or twice a fortnight). Today for example I was ticking along at high 8s on my dexcom, took the basal at around 6 and I'm now at 5.9. (indulgently I still haven't got up so can't put it down to any activity)
I do also appreciate that one day today is not a pattern, but it does feel like I'm getting a trend across a few

Think if you see a pattern then your basal is likely causing low bg levels, maybe ask to switch to another basal rather than split dose, there are some which last a lot longer than lantus & are said to be less likely to cause hypos, names just elude me at moment.