Sometimes 'hate' this condition. Do you feel the same?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bianca

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi There,

I sometimes 'hate' this condition and was wondering if some of you feel the same?

I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes only a year ago and have started insuline treatment 6 months ago. I have not yet done the DAFNE course and am eager to get on the course to learn more about carbohydrate counting which should hopefully help me with my weight loss.

Yes, I am struggling with my weight due to high blood sugar levels. I have gone from weighing 67 kg to 63.2 kg and now have a small BMI of 22. I was never 'overweight' and always had a healthy appearance.

I work as a dance instructor teaching group exercise classes on a weekly basis and my struggle with my weight management is getting me down!

I am now down with a cold/flu and my blood sugar readings have been terrible! I'm finding it hard to keep it down. Again I have noticed 'unwanted' weight loss in only 3 days time!

It's when this happens, that I feel rather sad and burst into tears telling myself that I hate this condition!

Mmm, some of you may think, great at least you're losing weight, but the reality is... how much weight can you lose if you are already slim? It then becomes dangerously unhealthy.

Anyway, I needed to vent as I'm feeling rather down today. I am off to do some food shopping to start my fight for weight again for the next couple of days!

Thanks for listening...

Hi Bianca ..

Firstly welcome to the forum ... The large extended family ... 🙂

I am sorry to hear you are feeling down and hate the condition sometimes ... sending you big (((((HUGS)))))) ...