Something about 4am

Status
Not open for further replies.

MargB

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I am a newbie who has only had telephone diagnosis so far, seeing the doc on Friday.

I usually wake up around 4am either with a totally dry, parched mouth, or dreadful leg cramps or itchy legs or anything. Until the diagnosis I was wondering if perhaps a noisy neighbour was disturbing my sleep but now thinking it could be the diabetes.

Does that sound daft? Am I trying to blame diabetes for everything?

Nope, sounds perfectly reasonable to me. I didn't have a full night's sleep for a good month or so prior to diagnosis, because I had to get up and use the loo, and drink a litre's worth of water. And I also had really dry itchy skin.

So no, you're actually showing typical symptoms. But don't worry, they will pass eventually 🙂

sounds like classic signs to me. At my worst before diagnosis I'd get through at least 5 or 6 pints of water through the night The leg cramps were awful, I used to get them in both legs at once sometimes. Those sort of symptoms should go as your glucose levels come down.

I still get up in the night for a pee and a drink and have done so since my early teens. The itching has all gone thoe.

Yup agree with the others calssis symptoms, recently i have been having very disturbed sleep even as recent as last night i was up at 5am, and then when my other half got up he said i was talking to him in my sleep about red poles(another matter altogether lol) but i often have to get up and have a drink of water and also it gives me chance to stretch my leg usually left one as it always cramps.

oh thank you, it is a relief in a way.

Now I can mention them to the doc and not worry I sound like a total nutcase!

Do you know, I know I should get up and get a glass of water but can't be bothered so I just keep swallowing to produce saliva - lazy or what? LOL

Same symptoms but I also had blurred vision