Slightly Concerned!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Royston

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi, just registered with the group as I think I suffered some sort of diabetic 'turn' this afternoon and wanted to ask advice.
I have type two and have never had too many problems since being diagnosed about two and a half years ago. I'm on Gliclazde and Metaformin slow release tablets.
I'm a musician and this afternoon I was playing my Trombone for the switching on of the Christmas lights at a local shopping area. After about 15 mins I started having an ache in my stomach (not hunger but felt muscular) and soon after began experiencing a buzzing/fuzziness in the head and felt I was going to pass out! I had to urgently sit down, slightly recovered and was able to get through the last five minutes till the end.
Felt quite panicky and quickly got a cab home, had tea, jam tart and chocolate biscuit and slowly began to feel better. Now feeling tired and having a lie down and feel ok. I ate some toast before I went out but perhaps not enough and it lead to some kind of turn. I've never experienced anything like this before.
Thanks

Hi Royston, welcome to the forum. you'll get lots of sensible advice on here.

What you describe could be a hypo, particularly as you take Gliclazide. The fact that sweet treat afterwards got you feeling better almost proves it, as does feeling tired afterwards.

Do you have a test meter that could shown this? I suspect you don't, so that would be a wise investment. You just need one like the Tee2, cheap, and the test strips are cheap too, and just as accurate as more expensive meters. That would tell you how much your BG drops after a performance, so that would guide on fuelling up before the show. The toast wasn't quite enough, clearly, and playing the trombone is one of the more exertional instruments than the rest of the brass team.