Sleepy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carolcottam

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi
my husband is T2. He often falls asleep during the day……he had a little nap yesterday lunch Time…..and last night felt soooo tired he went to bed before 8.00…and was still tired when he woke up…..around 7pm..
he is t over weight and he eats healthy meals tries to keep away from the carbs..he takes tablets…
I don’t know what to suggest…..can anyone help…

Even a diabetic needs carbs. Carbs are what gives you energy, fuel for your body. Complex carbs (whole foods) are better.
Obviously I'm not a doctor, nor do I know your husband, but I'd recommend him seeing a doctor & a dietician.

He does have some carbs…..I tell him that…..but he tries to keep them.low….he is due to see a doctor,but he won’t push for an appointment…he says the dietician doesn’t tell him anything he doesn’t already know so a waste of time…..
he is hard work sometimes

He does have some carbs…..I tell him that…..but he tries to keep them.low….he is due to see a doctor,but he won’t push for an appointment…he says the dietician doesn’t tell him anything he doesn’t already know so a waste of time…..
he is hard work sometimes
Dealing with diabetes can cause burnout, it can be difficult sometimes. I myself went through a period of not really looking after my diabetes a few years back. My friends guilted me into doing something about it & I eternally thank them for that.
He could be depressed, and if he's anything like me (and most men), a bit stubborn.

Welcome @Carolcottam 🙂 Both high and low sugar can cause sleepiness.Does he test his blood sugar when he feels sleepy like this? And what tablets does he take?

If low/high sugars can be ruled out, then I would suggest he speaks to his GP for some general health checks.