Sitagliptin

Status
Not open for further replies.

SweetGuy

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Anyone else on Sitagliptin?

I have been taking it for nearly 3 months now in addition to 2x850mg Metformin and the improvement in BG levels has been a bit disappointing. I seem to be stuck at BG of around 8 - 8.5 mmol/l before food rising to about 14 -15 mmol/l after food.

What are other peoples experiences with this?

Anyone else on Sitagliptin?

I have been taking it for nearly 3 months now in addition to 2x850mg Metformin and the improvement in BG levels has been a bit disappointing. I seem to be stuck at BG of around 8 - 8.5 mmol/l before food rising to about 14 -15 mmol/l after food.

What are other peoples experiences with this?

Dear SweetGuy,

Sorry, I have no experience with Sitagliptin. However, with figures like you quote it is clearly not working. You need to get in touch with whoever is looking after your diabetes and get them to make some changes. I follow a controlled carb approach and have found through experience that the only thing that works for me is to cut down on all sugars, starches, wheat, rice and pasta etc. Many years ago I used to be on diabetic meds but I could not achieve the control I now enjoy using controlled carbs.

Regards Dodger

PS welcome to the forum

Last edited: