Shivers despite it being warm!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Urs

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi I am new to taking Metaformin - 3 days. I feel out of sorts today, mowed the lawn but had to keep stoping as felt dizzy and weirdly got the shivers with goosebumps despite it being warm outside! Anything I should be concerned about or is my body adjusting to meds?

Hi I am new to taking Metaformin - 3 days. I feel out of sorts today, mowed the lawn but had to keep stoping as felt dizzy and weirdly got the shivers with goosebumps despite it being warm outside! Anything I should be concerned about or is my body adjusting to meds?
Welcome to the forum
I hope you have been started on a low dose with being told to build up if needed over a few weeks, however one of the side effects are usually a dodgy stomach which should settle down. If you have also made some necessary dietary changes as well it is likely the body adapting to a new regime and blood glucose coming down which although not actually low will be lower than your body is used to.
It is also worth making sure you stay well hydrated in this hot weather.
Were you told what your HbA1C is as that will indicate how much work you will need to do.
Have a look at this link for some ideas on a way forward in making some dietary changes and that willl be as important as the medication. https://lowcarbfreshwell.com/

Thanks for replting. HbA1c last week was 54, it has gradually crept up over the last few years hence the medication. No dietary changes yet I’m doing it gradually as I’m having problems with low levels in B12, iron, folate and vit D despite eating a varied diet of which I’m being investigated for. I took My blood sugar before lunch which was 7 Which is good for me.