Scared of cannula change

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dani L

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi everyone. I am new to the pump and i am scared of needles. I was doing ok changing my cannula (15mins to pluck up the courage) but last week I hit a nerve or something and it was very painful and now I can't bare doing it. My nurse surgested sitting with my mum ..... Which didn't help. It's taking me hours!!
Does anyone have any tips to helping me change my cannula? I know it's all in my head but I'm going to have to go back on my pens if I can't site change
Thanks Danielle

Hi Danielle, it depends on where you insert the cannula. I was advised to avoid the area around the belly button as it's more sensitive. I like to use the far right and far left of my stomach area where there's less erm...padding, even going round to the side. In six months I haven't had a painful cannula insertion in those areas. In fact, it's so painless I'm not sure it's gone in sometimes. Always make sure you remove the plastic covering from the needle too just before insertion. I haven't done it but I've heard of people forgetting to remove it and that can hurt. I religiously check that there's a tiny blue bit of plastic sitting on the table top before I press the plunger. Good luck and I hope you get it sorted!

Hi Dan. I always change the gadget after I have been in shower or bath. Skin is like a babies behind & soft :D. Good luck

I wonder if you could try some of that cream (emla?) that numbs the area.

Hi everyone. I am new to the pump and i am scared of needles. I was doing ok changing my cannula (15mins to pluck up the courage) but last week I hit a nerve or something and it was very painful and now I can't bare doing it. My nurse surgested sitting with my mum ..... Which didn't help. It's taking me hours!!
Does anyone have any tips to helping me change my cannula? I know it's all in my head but I'm going to have to go back on my pens if I can't site change
Thanks Danielle