Retinopathy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzi

Hi All,
I am 40 year old who has had diabetes type 2 for about 8 years. There were a lot of issues about my diagnoses and treatment but it settled down in the last few years when the medication mix seemed to start working.
I have attended my eye screening appointments since I was diagnosed and never had a problem until today, I received the results of my screening that I attended a couple of weeks ago. They have confirmed that I have some background retinopathy but that I don't need treatment yet and I will have an appointment next year.
However this has come as a massive shock and I am really stressed out by it, I cannot get through to my doctors surgery to speak to my doctor (however in all honesty every time I speak to her I end up in tears out of sheer frustration). The NHS website really does not provide many details about this and I really need to know what I can do to try and stop it from getting any worse - all it says is manage your diabetes, which I have been doing particularly over the past few years, I have a level of 48 at my last blood test (about 6 months ago). I have my yearly check-up in a couple of weeks but due to the shortage of blood testing bottles I cannot get my up to date HBA1C .
I am watching what I eat (speaking to a dietician to help), losing weight, exercising, ensuring my meds are taken and generally looking after myself - what else can I do to try and prevent this worsening?
If anyone has any ideas or tips it would be much appreciated?
I have been crying non-stop since the letter came through a couple of hours ago but I really need to try and do something pro-active instead of dwelling on the results.

However this has come as a massive shock and I am really stressed out by it, I cannot get through to my doctors surgery to speak to my doctor (however in all honesty every time I speak to her I end up in tears out of sheer frustration).