Researching on hypos and first aid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Giovana

Hello everybody!

I would like to hear from diabetics who experienced problems when having hypos, due to the lack of knowledge of people trying to help, ignoring or overlooking it as something minor.

My partner is type 1 and we have recently been through a similar situation . I beleive this happens more often than we imagine, as recently a paramedic was struck off after refusing to treat a women having a hypo, saying that she was only drunk. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8280785.stm

As a freelance journalist I would like to address this issues in the national and local press, specially when the World Diabetes Way approaches. But to do it so, I need more cases/personal stories.

So, if you have beeing through a situation of neglect (deliberate or due to lack of knowledge), I would love to hear from you.

Please get in touch🙂

Giovana Zilli
giozilli@gmail.com

Where I work, because one of the first aiders is diabetic, she made sure ALL of the first aiders knew what to do. My son is also a first aider and I explained to him, but I am aware that not everyone knows what to do with a hypo. Certainly Boots at Kings Cross St. Pancras Underground station don't sell glucotabs or anything to treat a hypo with because (i nthe pharmacists words) a hypo is not important. I have brought it to the attention of Boots head office...

Are you talking about medical professionals or just general public?
If it's general public I think it's a bit of a strong word to say neglect. Do we expect for everyone to know what hypos are and how to treat them? plenty of people with diabetes don't know how to treat them properly.

Does that boots not sell drinks? I think that was an inapproriate thing for the pharmacist to say and good you felt able to complain.

Neglect if the case involves medical professionals.
Lack of knowledge, when it involves general public.