Relationship to Diabetes
HCP/Researcher
An online, compassion intervention to improve shame, self-criticism, and physical wellbeing in adults with Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus (T1DM; T2DM)
What is the aim?
My name is Hetashi and I am a Trainee Clinical Psychologist. As part of my research, we are exploring whether a four-week Compassionate Mind Training can help reduce experiences of shame and self-criticism.

We are looking for:
  • Adults over 18 who have had Type 1 or Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus for more than a year.
  • Adults experiencing diabetes distress, shame or self-criticism.
  • Adults who are self-managing their Diabetes in the UK.
  • Adults not currently accessing psychological therapy.
  • Adults not currently in mental health crisis/distress or experiencing thoughts of deliberate self-harm or suicide.
What will it involve?
  • You will be asked to complete a set of questionnaires three times.
  • You will be given access to complete the Compassionate Mind Training, once a week for four weeks. This involves watching a weekly 30 minute video. There is also an audio to practise what you learnt and a short summary to read.
How do I sign up?

Click the below link to find out more about this research project and sign up.
https://cccusocialsciences.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_aWUJ7NiJ0OXbY34

What happens next?
  1. After reading the information sheet on the above link and signing the consent form, you will be asked some screening questions to make sure you are eligible to take part in the project.
  2. You will then be asked to complete the first set of questionnaires.
  3. After completing the questionnaires, you will be allocated to either the intervention group or control group.
If you are allocated to the intervention group, you will be given access to the Compassionate Mind Training immediately, which you should try to complete within four weeks. You will then be asked to complete the questionnaires two more times.