Reduction in Insulin:Carbo ratios when changing from MDI to pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

petmcgratt

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I have been doing DAFNE with MDI for 2 years until I got switched onto the Accuchek Aviva Combo insulin pump on Monday 4th Feb 2013. I would have been taking split dose Levemir (16 U am and 16 U pm) along with QA insulin:carb ratios 2:1 (breakfast & Lunch), 1:1 dinner time and 1.5:1 (bedtime).

Since starting the pump I have been put on a 1.0 u/hour basal rate in place of my Levemir and kept to the same ratios for my bolus injections. However for 2 days now I am constantly correcting hypos up until mid afternoon. I initially thought my basal rate was too high but having looked at my insulin and carbohydrate intake up until tea time over 48 hours my breakfast ratio has decreased from 2:1 to 1.5:1 and my lunchtime ratio has also decreased from 2:1 to 1.2:1.

has anyone else experienced such a quick change in some or all of their ratios going from MDI to the insulin pump or am I doing something fundamentally wrong

It isn't uncommon, but it will affect some people more than others. Some teams automatically reduce TDD by 60% when switching to pump, then you have to juggle/tweak those initial basal and ratio approaches in the first few weeks (and then on an ongoing basis obviously!)

I think it is down to more efficient absorption of the insulin - though I noticed little change myself and after 6 months my TDD was pretty much back where it started.

My background was halved and my ratios, which were previously 3:1, 1:1, 1.5:1, were all returned to 1:1.......

And my blood sugars are good, its amazing, just shows you how ineffective MDI is.......(50% I think I was told)......

Where does the rest of that insulin go.......?

I though it was common practice to go back to 1:1 ratios.......and there is a formula for working out your new pump basal rate to start on.....

Is this not others experience......?