Red wine, beer and spirits

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hungry

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi guys

I’m totally new to both type 2 diabetes and this forum. Still getting my head around stuff and coming to terms with the diagnosis. Blood sugar was 54. Question is can I drink alcohol, red wine or beer..obviously moderation is key but what are peoples thoughts and experience?

Red wine is better as it's very low in Carbs, I know it's supposed to cause BG to drop but it always did the opposite for me causing it to rise during the night..I dont bother anymore

Last edited:
Yes you can. I drink the occasional glass or 2 of red wine and am partial to a real ale or 2. Its the same with most things and you can enjoy in moderation.

Spirits, in moderation, such as vodka, have none.

As a rule of thumb, anything sweet has more carbs, as most drinks are back sweetened.
Having said that, I don't count carbs, so I'm good on most.
Real ale is definitely my drink.

Thanks Stitch. I guessed as much but thought I’d run it past you experienced guys

Red wine is better as it's very low in Carbs, I know it's supposed to cause BG to drop but it always did the opposite for me causing it to rise during the night..I dont bother anymore
Don’t bother drinking red wine?

Red wine, dry white wine and spirits with diet mixers (in my case gin and slimline or rum and coke) have no impact on on my BG levels. Sadly port does, but I still have the occasional small glass. I don't drink beer but I believe it has more carbs so likely to increase your levels to some extent. Cider is the same.

Red wine, dry white wine and spirits with diet mixers (in my case gin and slimline or rum and coke) have no impact on on my BG levels. Sadly port does, but I still have the occasional small glass. I don't drink beer but I believe it has more carbs so likely to increase your levels to some extent. Cider is the same.

Even I have given up cider!!