Recent sugar crashing

Richard1985

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I'm quite new to diabetes 8months diagnosed. currently I'm taking 12 tuejo and 4 fiasp 1 metformin my bloods have been generally between 6 an 15 and over the last week I have had sudden sugar crashes which my bloods have gone down to 3 it's happen about 6 times in the last week I panic when it happens i have my jelly babies on hand just wondering if its normal for this to happen thanks

Hi and welcome.

Sorry to hear you have been experiencing some hypos. There are a number of things which can cause these although it is ultimately too much insulin. Figuring out which insulin dose was too much and why is the puzzle you need to solve.

The first thing to consider is when the hypos happened. Were they within a 3hours of a meal in which case it is likely your FIasp. It looks like you are currently on fixed doses of Fiasp which is surprising after 8 months. Have they not started you carb counting yet and adjusting your doses for what you eat? If you are on fixed doses and you had a low carb meal like an omelette with salad then that could have caused it or if you exercised within a couple of hours after a meal as the aerobic exercise will make you much more sensitive to the insulin you injected. Exercise can be anything from running or playing sport to hoovering the stairs or painting the ceiling, or digging the garden or mowing the lawn or cutting a hedge or having sex for that matter. The warmer weather can also make you more sensitive to insulin and drop your levels.... or.... if the heat stresses you, it can send your levels up, so how you respond to certain situations can be quite individual.

If your sudden drops in BG were overnight then it is likely your basal insulin (Toujeo) or if those drops were happening about the same time most days and not just after a meal, so if you experienced hypos in the afternoon 3 days out 4 that would suggest it was your Toujeo.