Really embarrasing problem!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffany

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Iv been diagnosed as diabetic for just about 6 weeks now (treated as a type 1 for now) im on metformin tablets twice a day as well as novorapid injections 3 times a day and lantus at night.
My diet was shocking before I found out I didnt eat during the day at all im a teacher so im quite busy and to be honest never missed eating. I would just have a huge meal at night and quite often not very nutritional!
Anyway sorry for the essay! Since being diagnosed I have been a good girl and have really tried hard to eat three balanced meals a day!. But over the last few weeks I have noticed that I have been having more 'bowel movements' shall we call them than usual! I am also experiencing diarrhoea very frequently and always at night, which is quite fortunate!
I have my next appointment with my nurse next month but in th emeantime I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced this. Could it be the sudden change in my diet or is it my treatment. I get it also when im not eating meat so I know its not germs from food. Sorry to gross people out!

Don't worry, these symptoms are quite common in the early days. It may be the Metformin, I couldn't get on with the stuff at all and the the plumbing problems never really left me while I was on it. Talk to your doctor or DSN about it and see what they say. You may do better with a slow release version.

It will be the change of diet and the metformin. I am supposed to take 3 x 500 per day but can't just manage that last one so am settling for 2.

Like Alison has said, be sure to mention it next time you are with your doc or DSN.

By they way, Imodium will help!

metformin unfortnately is also known as megafartin...for the reasons mentioned above ...but it should stop 🙂

the melformin curse strikes again