Quick question about spares in handbag

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monica

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
We're off out today, as Carol doesn't have to go to school due to strikes.

What do you have in your handbag regarding pumping stuff when you're out for the day?

I have a spare set (inset II), a spare reservoir, spare battery, vial of insulin, insulin pen & cartridge of insulin and pen needles. I can fit it all inside a slim pencil case.

I carry a couple of sets be they a Quickset and the relevant inserter or Sure T sets. I also carry a couple of reservoirs and a vial of insulin. It's no drama for me to get hold of an insulin syringe as I work in a hospital so I can just pilfer what I need. My pump batteries tend to last about five weeks, six at a push. I don't really bother to carry around pens as my Sure T sets just don't fail. They are a very nice back up option as you can often put them in and forget about them.

I have a spare set (inset II), a spare reservoir, spare battery, vial of insulin, insulin pen & cartridge of insulin and pen needles. I can fit it all inside a slim pencil case.

ditto, i carry spare everything, even a spare meter, i keep it all in a make up bag, and my handbags are lie suitcases anyway 😱

For pump 1 cannula and tubing plus cartridge. Insulin syringe as can just take insulin from cartridge if pump gone wrong.
Normal hypo treatment and meter.

Oops forgot the battery.

Last edited:
It depends on how far away from I will be..

I always carry meter and hypo kit everywhere..

But if I'm walking the dogs or popping in town shopping I tend not to carry any spares with me..

If I going slightly further afield I will take on of two sets of spares

Where I can get home within 1/2 hour or so, I just take a spare infusion set and battery..

If I'm going futher afield, I then includ, spare insulin and cartridge..