Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweetsatin

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I work as a community support worker & always on the move as a walker, my question is.... As i've not got access to any hot water at times i carry hand gel, will this effect my BS Levels while testing i asked in the chemist but said just wash it off.... derrrrrrr thats my point i'm not near hot water all the time to wash my hands. I'm asumming the test will have some effect as a hand gel is only masking the dirt/bactaria.
I am trying to balance out my food as i am continually active from early morning till 10.30pm most days, i have to sort something out as what food i am eating to build energy it is automaticly being burnt off surely.
Can anyone answer this plz.

I don't have an answer, but could you do a few tests yourself at home? One with hand gel and one without? You may need to do this two or three times to even out any meter errors.

Andy

p.s. I don't suppose the hand gel mentions any carb content does it?! :D

good point Andy never thought of that 🙂

Actually, thinking about it a bit more, there is always the danger of your hands not being properly clean when you're out and about (even after using the hand gel) and so you'll need to take a bad reading with a pinch of salt anyway.

(so I guess that I did have an answer?)

Andy 🙂

Lol thats what i was saying about hand gel masking the dirt/bactaria. lol

I don't think the problem would be with general dirt and bacteria. You may simply have touched something where someone had previously put their jam smothered hands! :D

No amount of hand gel will clean THAT off. It'll just spread it around a bit! 😱

Andy

I carry a pack of wipes with me. Most wipes seem to get dirt and stickiness off my hands, but don't know if it will affect meter readings as I wash my hands as soon as I can get to hot water anyway. Not sure if that is much help, but it is another idea.