Question about insulin dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarinaDE

Newbie here. I got my first insulin vials yesterday - Tresiba once a day, and Fiasp at meal times.

I injected the Fiasp at lunch, but my blood sugar skyrocketed. Can I vary the dose, or inject a second time? What's more important, sticking to the prescribed schedule, or keeping the sugar levels in the green zone?

@MarinaDE At the moment, stick to the schedule you’ve been given. You’ll have been started on less than you need for safety reasons. Gather information about how these amounts work for you (ie record meal time, carb content, insulin dose, blood sugar before). Always err on the side of caution.

Also, it’s normal for your blood sugar to rise after eating. What you’re looking for is if it comes down at the time of your next meal. How high did you go?

It’s likely your doses will need adjusting, but this will be done carefully and gradually - not just your Fiasp but the Tresiba too. Getting the basal insulin dose right (Tresiba in your case) is the foundation of good control. You then build on that by getting your mealtime doses as right as you can.

Have you been given a mealtime ratio, ie 1 unit of Fiasp for every 15g carbs or whatever? Areyou on fixed dose of the Fiasp, ie take X units at lunch, etc? If so, were you given a rough estimate of how many carbs that fixed dose would cover, eg take X units of Fiasp and eat Y grams of carbs?