Pump for 3 year old?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misst104

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
Hi everyone

I am new here and just wondered if anyone with a young child on a pump could let me know how they get on with it? My diabetic team are keen for us to perhaps give it a try. Oliver is 3 and was diagnosed 1 year ago. We are struggling to get any sort of control with injections but i am unsure as to the practicalities of a pump for such a young child. He is also a VERY boisterous boy, rough and tumble play all the time with his friends and older brother so I am concerned about it being safe, comfortable etc.

im not really sure how it all works as she only mentioned it yesterday and gave us a carb counting book and a leaflet about pumping for children but the examples are all for children aged 10-14 years as far as I can see.

thanks for reading 🙂

jo x

I have no direct experiences with pumps, hopefully soon, but I would say you should seriously consider it.

The pump is suited so much more to young kids as there insulin needs are usually much less and sensitivity is high.........the pump can eliminate problems associated with those factors........

I have no doubt its hard work, for the parent and child but I believe the rewards in lifestyle outweigh the negatives and it also will give the child and the parent a greater understanding about how to manage the condition, I have been diabetic for 12 years and only really got educated a few years back................just think of the damage done..........

I now pass you onto the experienced parents...............

GET ONE.:D

Seriously, if you have the offer then take it. There are lots of families fighting to get a pump and being turned away. I know this doesnt matter to you personally - but please consider one.