Prediabetes age 30…please help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Relationship to Diabetes
At risk of diabetes
I’m a 30 year old father of 2 small children. Poor diet, weight for the last 10 years. Had a fasting blood glucose test today that showed levels at 116 mg/dL.m, giving a diagnosis of prediabetes. Just 12 months ago, my level was 95 and A1c was 5.6.

All of a sudden, I was thrown into the world of diabetes. I am new to all of this.

I have read that lifestyle changes can reverse prediabetes, but that it is never truly gone, just in remission. My question: for someone diagnosed as young as me (with nearly 5 decades left to live to a normal life expectancy) is there any hope I could achieve remission permanently, or is it most likely that even if I kept the weight off, it would still gradually progress and eventually turn into T2D? I want to manage my expectations.

Thank you all.

I would say that anybody telling you that prediabetes can't be zapped into permanent submission is full of it. Lose some weight, keep it off, you'll probably be fine.

By the way "prediabetes" is kind of a marketing term. There's just about sod all complication risk with BG at "prediabetic" levels, and only a tiny proportion progress to actual diabetes on an annual basis. Just treat it as a heads up to make some simple changes.

You might have to continue to be aware of carbs in your diet in future - but a low carb diet is not difficult to stick to - it has all the tasty things and none of the bland ones. You have been detected very early, so it might be only weeks until you are back in normal numbers. I was trying to eat low carb and being nagged not to for many years, but I have always been able to return to it and felt my metabolism improving, over and over again down the decades.
High carb and low fat has always been pushed as healthy - it never worked for me.