Post transplant diabetes

Katherine129

Relationship to Diabetes
Steroid Induced Diabetes
Pronouns
She/Her
Hi everyone

Hubby had a kidney transplant at the end of March. At his checkup in the middle of July his blood tests showed a glucose level of 33. His fasting glucose on a finger prick was 15.

The renal consultant was not very helpful. He basically said - Here is a tablet. Eat less carbs. That was it as far as diabetes education went! Hubby had a tough time accepting it at first and went into a bit of a sulk although he is now engaging with better food choices again.

Thankfully I am a paeds nurse so have some idea about diabetes so not totally clueless.

Hubby is wearing a continuous glucose monitor so we can see what food impacts his sugars. Lots of trial and error! He has significantly reduced his carbs - switched to low carb bread and his sugars seem more stable although I hope we haven't cut them back too much.

He has been struggling with dizziness when he stands or stretches. Is this a sideceffect of diabetes? The renal consultant seemed very dismissive and his first appointment with the diabetes nurse is not for another 2 weeks.

Just feel like we have no support at the moment and have just been left to figure it out on our own with no guidance!

Anyway, sorry for the long post. Hoping to get many hints and tips from this forum

Sorry to hear about your husband's transplant and subsequent diabetes, but welcome to the forum. Those are quite high BG numbers but they're not HbA1c units. Has he been diagnosed on the basis of an HbA1c and, if so, do you know what his result was? Also, what medication has he been prescribed?

Welcome to the forum
I hope he feels better soon. Is it worth trying the local doctors surgery?