Post-Site Change Highs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emck

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi all,

I’m a newbie on the forum, but am hoping that someone might be able to help me out.

I started pumping with the Tandem TSlim x2l last summer.

Ever since then I have been having issues with post-site change highs. I find this really stressful and hard to manage.

I have tried multiple types of infusion set (autosoft 30, autosoft 90, trusteel and varisoft) but nothing is helping.

Tandem and my hospital have been no help in trying to figure out a solution. I’m at my wits end!!

Has anyone else had this issue and found a solution that worked for them??

Thanks,
Emer

I have this too to some extent - not enough to make it stressful though. I think that it might be about absorption only really getting going when a "pool" of insulin has formed at the new cannula site. What I have tried with some success is to immediately dial in a one unit dose when the new set is attached irrespective of any other bolus. This seems to get the absorption process going quicker.

I discussed this with my DSN last year, and her reaction was basically "whatever works for you dear".

It takes a few hours for the set to settle in with my kid so a high after insertion is common. We tend to do a couple of units when the set goes on which helps or up the basal for a few hours. It depends how high you go and whether you’re using basal or control iq or anything. The other thing to do it do a couple of units with the old set before you take it off if you know you’ll put the new set on immediately.

One thing we were told was to try and avoid a big bolus on a new set as it can be hard to absorb so it depends if you’re eating at the time you change the set or not.

Thanks for the replies.

I never really thought about avoiding a bigger bolus through the new site.

I have quite high insulin resistance, so my mealtime blouses are probably larger than most.