Playing Devils Advocate - Are GP's financially incentivised to make a T2D diagnosis?

pjgtech

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
As per the title, just playing devils advocate, but interested in opinions.
I read ages ago, sorry cannot remember where, that a GP surgery gets (presumably Govt) funding to the tune of £5k for every T2D patient that they diagnose.
So, does this then lead to maybe to some cases being diagnosed when in fact they are borderline, because the practice would benefit financially? If so, is this a problem?

NB: I am certainly NOT stating that this was a factor in my case, I am overweight, I do have contributing factors, I am T2D and needed treatment, and I am grateful to my GP and the practice for all the support, info, medication, etc that they have provided for me.

I would assume that if this is true, (no idea if it is) then GP practices may also receive funding for other diagnosis's too.
I have to hold my hands up and say that I have no real knowledge of how GP practices are funded, so looking forward to finding out.

So, does this then lead to maybe to some cases being diagnosed when in fact they are borderline, because the practice would benefit financially?
Perhaps. I'd guess whatever extra money they get would mostly only cover what they're then required to offer the patients (at least annual checks and often medications and other support). I'd guess the money would be stuck to the formal criterion of HbA1c over 48 anyway, so I doubt there's that much borderline anyway?

Bruce, thanx for the link, just read it cheers.
Why am I not surprised that the first sentence states "The funding a general practice receives depends on a complex mix of different income streams." Complex, yeah, course it is, wouldn't want to make it simple now would we!