Picking my pump!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AaronH83

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
So today I had a session with reps from 5 pump manufacturers. I would love if fellow members could offer me their advice and opinions on my options please. This has been a very long 8 year wait for me and I have done a lot of research, but I'm really wanting to hear from those more experienced who use them every day. My options are:

Omnipod: seems a bit bulky and I'm not too keen on the amount of waste it generates. Can it be recycled? Also I'd be worried about it getting knocked off. I'm a prison officer who sometimes has to get into a bit of rough and tumble. No local rep though, or local support.

DANA: first time I've ever heard of it was today! Impressed by their claims of accuracy and the design was very nice. Again, no local support or rep.

Medtrum: another first for me, very small, sensors aren't overly expensive at £70 for 2 but the transmitter is £200. Again, no local support or rep, they have to travel to NI. Like the Omnipod, I'm not sure it's right for me.

Medtronic: this is what I've picked as my favourite based on features, having a local rep and local support. The features like Bolus Calculator etc really appeal to me, as does the fact I can get a new pump within 2 hours should anything happen. Sensors seem expensive though.

T: Slim: my second choice, and has a choice of sensors to work with. I don't know whether to go with Control or Bolus IQ though? No local rep but nurses seem clued in on it. Touchscreen worries me, if it breaks I'm up the creek sans propulsion.

I will be self funding sensors, and I think it'll be 780G with Guardian 4 sensors. I do like the Medtronic philosophy of evolution, not revolution but I also like the fact the T Slim is constantly updating software wise.