paying form my tubular bandage

patchworkdolly

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I have been told I must now pay for my retention bandage. I have type 2 diabetes and my left leg is affected by bad skin up to my knee.
I keep it okj by using cortison cream and good amount of cream.
On sending in a repeat perscription for the bandage I have been told I must now buy it at the chemist.
My chemist says this is not right but I am having trouble talking to my doctors. They say I must now buy myself.
I am 78 and have paid in all my life. Must I now pay for this bandage?

You have my sympathy! I have poor skin in my remaining leg below the knee. Whilst the podiatrist puts on new Yellow Line weekly I have to buy it as after a few days the creaming means it does need replacing. I did get a prescription but they prescribe a different type which is really to tight for PAD! I have 47 years of NI contributions.

Hi @patchworkdolly and welcome to the forum. I'm no expert in these matters but a quick google suggests that tubular bandage is allowable as a prescription item although as @MikeyBikey (a bit of an expert in these matters) suggests it might depend on the exact bandage type.

I would go back to the GP and ask what has changed which means that you have now to buy the bandage and see if you get a satisfactory answer.

You have my sympathy! I have poor skin in my remaining leg below the knee. Whilst the podiatrist puts on new Yellow Line weekly I have to buy it as after a few days the creaming means it does need replacing. I did get a prescription but they prescribe a different type which is really to tight for PAD! I have 47 years of NI contributions.