Participants required for dissertation research on Type 1 diabetes and stigma

Status
Not open for further replies.

eilidhgm

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I am a fourth year undergraduate student at the University of Stirling, studying BA Psychology and Sociology. As part of my course requirements, I must complete a Sociology-based dissertation, and I have chosen the topic of Type 1 diabetes and stigma. As I am affected by Type 1 diabetes, this is a topic that relates greatly to me. I also have a great deal of interest in finding out more about how other Type 1 diabetics regard societies view towards their condition, and to add to the lack of literature available on this topic would be a very positive thing for Type 1 diabetes.

I am looking to recruit 5-7 participants to be interviewed for my research - you must be over 18, have Type 1 diabetes, and live in the UK. This interview can either be carried out through Skype, over the phone, or face-to-face if you live in the Glasgow area – whichever you are comfortable with. It will take no longer than 30 minutes of your time. The interview shall involve 11 questions regarding your own experience of having diabetes, and how others have viewed it.

If you are interested in participating in this study, please contact me via my email address: eim00045@students.stir.ac.uk. I am more than happy to answer any queries you may have regarding any aspect of the research or the participation process. If you agree to participate, I will then send you an information sheet and a consent form to fill in.

Thank you very much, I greatly appreciate your time and interest.

Eilidh Macdiarmid

Last edited:
In 54 years of type 1 diabetes I have never encountered stigma, Ignorance yes stigma no.