Pain im shoulder and arm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smileyface

Relationship to Diabetes
Carer/Partner
Hi. My partner has had pain in his shoulder and upper bicep. He thinks it may be frozen shoulder as an it feels stiff and painful on lateral lift (raising his arms out to the side and moving up to his ears). He also gets sharp stabbing pain running down his arm when carrying our short quick movements. He says that pain is much worse at night and isn't getting much sleep. He has had this for about 3 months now.
I know that people with diabetes are likely to get frozen shoulder!

I am worried it could be Neuropathy to do with his diabetes but he doesn't think it is?

Is there anyone how can give me guidance to pass onto him please?

Many thanks

Sorry to hear that your partner is in pain @Smileyface Shoulder pain is horrible. I’ve had it and it’s surprisingly awkward and seems to spread to the neck and head too.

I don’t think it sounds like neuropathy but I’m not a doctor. I think it would be best if he could get seen so that he could get a diagnosis. The only time I had shooting pains like you describe was when I had a trapped nerve. I’m not sure they’re a sign of frozen shoulder. It could be an injury or a strain or similar. In that case, there might be some treatment that would help - hence the importance of getting it seen.

Sorry to hear that your partner is in pain @Smileyface Shoulder pain is horrible. I’ve had it and it’s surprisingly awkward and seems to spread to the neck and head too.

I don’t think it sounds like neuropathy but I’m not a doctor. I think it would be best if he could get seen so that he could get a diagnosis. The only time I had shooting pains like you describe was when I had a trapped nerve. I’m not sure they’re a sign of frozen shoulder. It could be an injury or a strain or similar. In that case, there might be some treatment that would help - hence the importance of getting it seen.
Thank you for your guidance! Appreciated