• Please Remember: Members are only permitted to share their own experiences. Members are not qualified to give medical advice. Additionally, everyone manages their health differently. Please be respectful of other people's opinions about their own diabetes management.
  • Take a look at our new Type 2 Diabetes Remission section on the Diabetes UK website: https://www.diabetes.org.uk/diabetes-the-basics/type-2-remission

Ozempic- withdrawal

Carole Waterworth

I've been using Ozempic for 2 years. I lost 3 stones in the first 6 months and have remained at that lower weight since then. My BG levels have more or less been within normal limits during this time. I was always told that my Diabetes cannot be reversed and that it's with me for life. As Ozempic manages my Diabetes and not weight I expected that when it stopped, as it has recently due to the highly publicised supply issues, that my BG would increase. It is however going the other way, constantly dropping down to 4 so I have to keep eating! Is anyone else seeing this effect?

What other medication are you on? You don’t need to eat just because bg is 4 unless you’re on medication that might drop you further

What other medication are you on? You don’t need to eat just because bg is 4 unless you’re on medication that might drop you further
No other Diabetes related meds, just Levothyroxine and Statins. Many thanks for your reply. I really didn't know that, I always understood that to fall below 4 could be life threatening. It's scary to think that I've been diabetic for 5 years and have such limited knowledge, but I suppose that initially when I was injecting insulin many times a day, that would have been the case. Thanks again.