Operations and sugar levels.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndyGlos

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
He/Him
Afternoon All, I am trying to get my head straight as I am going to have some operations, the first since being diagnosed diabetic. Am hoping the back surgery will mean I can get a bit more active again and do some exercise.

I'm not good with anesthetics both mentally and physically, one friend woke up during a back op and last time I had one they had trouble waking me up.

What I am now also wondering is whether anyone had trouble keeping sugar levels under control after an op or whether there were any other problems? I'm probably overthinking things but would like to know. It's taken me long enough to get sugars down so that the Medics would agree to operate.

I have had a couple of operations since my diagnosis.
I found the stress of the upcoming surgery raised my BG and, then afterwards, my BG was raised as my helpful liver release even more glucose to help with the recovery and repair.
However, this was not long term affect and, I suspect my BG was raised beforehand as my body was fighting the pain which necessitated the surgery.

I have had GA a couple of times which was fine both times for me. I think the nurse was more concerned than I was as I came round because my heart rate was lower than she was used to seeing but not overly low for me.
Before the surgery, I spoke to the anaesthetist who explained that he would be keeping an eye on my BG so he could give insulin through the drip if my BG started to rise or glucose if it fell. I am not sure if this is the case for all people with diabetes or only those being treated with insulin.
I would definitely recommend you speak to your anaesthetist beforehand and explain your concerns. They may be able to alleviate some of them.

I have had a couple of operations since my diagnosis.