Omnipod dash vs Medtronic 640g

Status
Not open for further replies.

Helz

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi, i am due an upgrade from my accu chek insight pump and have been offered the omniod dash or medtronic 640g. I dont really know much about either of them. With my insight i stash the pump in my bra and use the handset. I work a pretty active job, im a vet care assistant working nights and i run and play netball. Any pros/cons to either??? Ive not really had any info from my diabetes team. I have ordered the trial pod to see what its like.

Hi Helz

I wonder if you are in the same neck of the woods as I am (Cornwall) as my clinic give the same choice of pumps. 4 years ago when I got my replacement pump the clinic had stopped offering the Insight as they'd had a lot of trouble with it, Animas had gone out of the scene and so my choice was the Medtronic or another AccuChek Combo. I had met up with another pump user on the Medtronic and we'd discussed it in detail. I didn't like the idea of having to fish the Medtronic out of my clothing to bolus as I had become used to the handset. OK when I'm wearing trousers or skirts with a pocket, but not so good when wearing a dress. So I have had another 4 years on the Combo. I've pretty much made up my mind to have the Omnipod in November this year. I also tried out the trial pod and you soon forget it's there.

I had 2 combos over an 8 year period but had to change and foolishly picked the medtronic 640g, the pump itself is OK but getting supplies or any kind of service has been a nightmare, I am only 8 months into a 4 year contract and already considering injecting again

Anybody else have supply issues?

I don't have any experience of either of the pumps mentioned but I thought my experience of tubey vs tubeless which may be of interest and something to consider.