Novorapid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charl

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
How long does it keep working, in the past I was getting hypos between 1 and 4 during the night, mentioned it to to my DN where she cut my lantus down by two units, this I take before breakfast, have been making changes to my novorapid and finding that my readings before bed are around 8..9 so having a biscuit just incase of hypo through the night, should I be taking less novorapid with my evening meal so my readings would be a bit higher or will there not be much change, my rapid is taken around 6.30....7.00....Thanks

NovoRapid typically last for 4 or 5 hours after taking.
I am not a doctor but my suspicion would be the Lantus. Its profile is not as flat as one would hope and may have a peak a few hours after taking.
When I was injecting (NovoRapid and Lantus like you), I changed my Lantus dose to take it with my evening meal rather than just before bed so I was awake for the peak and able to handle it if necessary.
Alternatively, you could request a different basal insulin such as Tresiba which is very flat over 3 days (but you have to take it daily) or Levemir which lasts about 12 hours which gives you more flexibility if your basal needs vary.

I would say 5 hours max for NovoRapid.
What BG level have you been advised to aim for at bedtime? Having a biscuit when you are 8-9 seems like overkill especially if your Lantus has been reduced, so it may be that you need another reduction. I constantly need to tweak my basal insulin because my needs change depending upon what I have been doing during the day and how warm or cold it is (or I am).
What sort of levels are you waking up to in the morning?
How low are the hypos you are experiencing during the night?

Around 12-4am is the time our insulin needs usually drop so I’d suspect your Lantus too. If you’re not eating your evening meal late, I wouldn’t adjust the Novorapid.

Hypos are usually around 2.9 3.2