Novorapid & injecting into stomach ... any tips?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pawprint91

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Pronouns
She/Her
So .... 6 weeks later and after being 'politely pushy' (as one lovely member on here advised me to be a few weeks ago) with my diabetes team, I am finally on 2 units of novorapid before my evening meal (meaning I'm more confident to follow the advice of 'eat what you want'...!) I'm also now able to inject into my stomach, something I've never done before. I was told to avoid the area 'immediately round the belly button' and that I can pinch the skin if I want to, but other than that, does anybody have any tips on angle etc? Also, does novorapid work best injected into stomach or leg?

On a side note, I'm also now on basal insulin (Levemir) in the morning only to avoid hypos overnight, as my levels were still dropping overnight, although not dangerously - from a 12 post meal spike to say a 7. I was only on one unit in the pm anyway, and dn said that with the introduction of novorapid, she didn't want to risk going too low - I know I'm in this annoying honeymoon phase and everybody is different, but does this sound right? Thank you as always to everyone in advance!

Hi. Great to hear that being "politely pushy" got you some Novo juice. I was advised that injections should be at 90 degrees to the skin so straight rather than angled. Many DSNs seem to discourage pinching up but I can't see any negative to doing it and some positives in that it stretches the skin a little and that can aid the needle pushing through and the sensation of pinching (not hard obviously) distracts from any discomfort from the needle. Pinching up was a very common techniquie when needles were longer and particularly when people had lost a lot of weight at diagnosis, to ensure that the insulin went in the appropriate layer under the skin. These days with the tiny needles we have, it isn't necessary, but in my opinion, can still be helpful.