Novorapid and BD needles.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi all,

Anyone having a problem with Novorapid and BD needles not working.

I had this problem no insulin coming out to inject.

The needle is not reaching the insulin.
I contacted novorapid and was told by them Novorapid is designed for Novofine 30g 8mm and 31g 6 mm needles which cost less than BD needles..
I ordered a pack of each from Amazon and both work.

Hi. I've been using Novorapid for many years with two types of BD and other brands - all 32G 4mm. I've not had any problems. The needle doesn't 'reach' the insulin if you are using the pen and cartridge. The plunger pushes the insulin out of the needle. BTW 4mm is now the most popular needle size.

Hi. I've been using Novorapid for many years with two types of BD and other brands - all 32G 4mm. I've not had any problems. The needle doesn't 'reach' the insulin if you are using the pen and cartridge. The plunger pushes the insulin out of the needle. BTW 4mm is now the most popular needle size.
The end of the needle which is inside the screw on needle does need to be long enough to penetrate the rubber seal in the pen or cartridge. I had one or two BD needles which didn't allow the transmission of insulin. Not sure if the needle was clogged or the other end wasn't long enough but I always do an air shot so it was obvious and I changed needles. It was just the odd one though out of hundreds.

I should add that I use 4mm 32guage needles but I am now on Fiasp and Levemir. Both are made by the same manufacturer as NovoRapid though... so should be a standard size.
My current needles are GlucoRx Carepoint Ultra and work fine

Used NR with BD Viva 4mm needles for 5 years now and never had an issue, as far as I'm aware the length of the needle doesn't effect it reaching the seal as I think it's only the end that penetrates the skin that is longer xx